That time I made a salad

img_4691-1Which of course was today. Allie put a roast in the crockpot this morning so I decided to help by making a salad.

I don’t cook very often; partly because I’m not really great at it and partly because Allie is. In fact, she is a fantastic cook. And baker for that matter.

My endeavors in the kitchen often seem to end with mountains of dirty utensils, spilled ingredients and not a lot to show for it.

Today though I was motivated to help from watching her struggle to do EVERYTHING.

Our son Brenden is 5 so he’s pretty self sufficient, but our daughter Kezia is less then two months old. Allie is up many times in the night to feed her, and then powers through the day cooking, cleaning, laundering(just clothing) and generally accomplishing stuff.

Under normal circumstances, I make ever effort to help, but for the last two weeks I’ve been recovering from minor surgery on my shoulder and Allie has been doing tirelessly taking up the slack.

I’m stirring gravy for the mashed potatoes as I write this on my phone…

Rarely do I encounter gravy with a meal when it fails to conjure up this clip from Conspiracy Theory:

 

Perhaps you are having something enjoyable for dinner as well –  I hope so. If you’re not, please accept my sympathies.

oh, by the way, I finally wrote something more substantial under the ‘about’ tab so take a peek!

UPDATE:

img_4697
So unfortunately, I also made the mashed potatoes. No, you’re right, that whitish blob that has settled into the plate like self leveling grout IS the mashed potatoes.

I don’t know what happened.
Charles

2 thoughts on “That time I made a salad

Leave a comment